Peravoor Sub Division came into existence as part of the re-organization of police subdivisions and bifercated from Iritty Police Sub Division vide Govt. Order No 35/HOME/2021 Dated 10.02.2021 and started functioning from 18.02.2021. This sub division included Peravoor, Muzhakkunnu, Maloor and Kelakam Police stations as part of Iritty Taluk and Thalassery taluk.

The jurisdiction of this sub division is extended to an area of 279 Sq. KMs comprising of 11 Villages. The Sub division shares its east side Thalappuzha police station in Wayanad District, West side Mattannur police station limits in Kannur City District, North side shares Iritty Police station limits and South Kannavam Police station limits under Kannur City District.

Presently Peravoor Sub Division building is situated 200 Mtr away from Peravoor Town, adjacent to Peravoor - Thalassery State Highway. Present address of the office is the Office of the Deputy Superintendent of Police, Peravoor, PIN 670673.

Most famous Sree Mridangasaileswari Devi temple situated in Muzhakkunnu Police station limits in Peravoor sub division. A land of Theyyam and Thira glorifying the cultural pomp and tradition of Kerala is believed to be belongs to the series of 108 Durga Temples set up by Saint Parasurama. 'Kathakali' took shape here in this temple premises by the king of Kottayam Thamburan. Also Sree Kottiyoor Siva temple in Kelakam Police station limits in Peravoor sub division, an ancient pilgrim destination in North Kerala, is situated in the peaceful hilly area of the Western Ghats. Vyshagha Maholsavam is the famous celebration in this temple.


Last updated on Monday 22nd of November 2021 PM